CSAA Excellence Awards: 2014 Central Station of the Year is COPS Monitoring

CSAA Excellence Awards: 2014 Central Station of the Year is COPS Monitoring

Three Individuals Also Recognized for Performing at the Highest Level

VIENNA, VA (June 30, 2014) — CSAA International, the voice for central station monitoring companies, announced the winners of the CSAA 2014 Excellence Awards on June 25 at the Electronic Security Expo (ESX) in Nashville, TN. The winners are:

  • Central Station of the Year: COPS Monitoring
  • Central Station Support Person of the Year: Mark Simpson, RFI Security, Inc.
  • Central Station Operator of the Year: Tracey Crews, Cooperative Response Center, Inc.
  • Central Station Manager of the Year: Chris Newhook, American Alarm & Communications, Inc.

View More: http://acephotographs.pass.us/esx-day-2

COPS Monitoring is the 2013 Central Station of the Year. Pictured at the awards ceremony: SDM Editor Laura Stepanek; David Smith, Director of Marketing and Communications, COPS; Maria Malice, VP of Special Projects, COPS; Joe Goodman, Director of Sales, COPS; CSAA President Jay Hauhn; CSAA Executive VP Steve Doyle. 

“Our entire team is both humbled and honored to be recognized as this year’s Central Station of the Year Award recipient,” stated Jim McMullen, President and COO of COPS Monitoring. “We realize there are many first-class central stations and our hats are off to the CSAA and all its members who strive to make the industry more professional in every way. We are extremely appreciative to be commended with such a prestigious award. ”

The CSAA Central Station Excellence Awards recognize FM Global, Intertek/ETL or UL-listed central stations and outstanding personnel that perform in the highest professional manner, thereby making a significant contribution to the betterment of the alarm industry and the alarm profession while demonstrating exceptional service to their customers and community. Entries are judged by a blue-ribbon panel appointed by CSAA.

The CSAA Central Station Excellence Awards Program is sponsored by SDM Magazine. The finalists and winners were announced by Laura Stepanek, SDM editor, at a special breakfast event during ESX.

“The purpose of the awards program is to establish and promote the inherent value of central station services in general, to honor those who have made the most significant contributions to the service, and to promote the distinct level of professionalism attained by NRTL-approved central stations,” said Steve Doyle, CSAA Executive Vice President. “We congratulate our nominees, finalists and winners on their accomplishments which are improving our industry every day.”



Central Station Support Person of the Year: Mark Simpson, RFI Security, Inc. pictured with Laura Stepanek, SDM, and Monique Brent, CSAA.

View More: http://acephotographs.pass.us/esx-day-2

Central Station Manager of the Year Chris Newhook, American Alarm & Communications, Inc.

Central Station Operator of the Year Tracey Crews was unable to attend the awards ceremony.

Read on for the complete list of nominees and finalists, and check out SDM‘s complete coverage in Maya Dollarhide’s article “Talent is Acknowledged & Celebrated With 2014 CSAA Awards.


Support Person of the Year Nominees

  • Peggy Sue Raper, Alarm Detection Systems, Inc.
  • Erin Kimball, American Alarm & Communications, Inc.
  • Laura Mellang, Cooperative Response Center, Inc.
  • Kyle Johnson, DMC Security Services, Inc.*
  • Eric Kantner, The Protection Bureau
  • Mark Simpson, RFI Security, Inc. *
  • Ashley Smith, Security Alarm Monitoring, Inc.
  • Patrick Adair, Vector Security, Inc.
  • David Carter, Vector Security, Inc. *

Operator of the Year Nominees

  • Lisa Leblanc, American Alarm & Communications, Inc. *
  • Tracey Crews, Cooperative Response Center, Inc. *
  • Hugh Starkey, Matson Alarm Co., Inc.
  • Barbara Linder, Security Alarm Monitoring, Inc.
  • Ken Krueger, Vector Security, Inc.
  • Keith Simmons, Vector Security, Inc. *

Manager of the Year Nominees

  • Crystal White, Alarmco, Inc. (Las Vegas)
  • Chris Newhook, American Alarm & Communications, Inc. *
  • Randy Ambrus, Cooperative Response Center, Inc. *
  • Kayla Urioste, Matson Alarm Co., Inc. *

Central Station of the Year Nominees

  • Acadian Monitoring Services, LLC*
  • Alarm Detection Systems, Inc.
  • Alarmco, Inc. (Las Vegas)
  • American Alarm & Communications, Inc.
  • AvantGuard Monitoring Centers
  • COPS Monitoring, Inc. *
  • Cooperative Response Center, Inc.
  • Fifth Third Bank
  • Matson Alarm Co., Inc.
  • Monitronics International, Inc. *
  • RFI Security, Inc.
  • Security Alarm Monitoring, Inc.
  • Security Solutions, Inc.
  • Universal Atlantic Systems, Inc.
  • Vector Security, Inc.


All photos by AcePhotography, 2014.

View More: http://acephotographs.pass.us/esx-day-2




About CSAA International

The Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA) is an internationally recognized non-profit trade association. It represents central station monitoring companies that are certified by a CSAA-approved Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory, such as FM Global, Intertek/ETL or UL, in the burglar and fire alarm, CCTV and access control industries. CSAA is legally entitled to represent its members before Congress and regulatory agencies on the local, state and federal levels, and other authorities having jurisdiction (AHJs) over the industry. Since its incorporation in 1950, CSAA has served its members’ interests through education, online training, meetings and conventions, certification, insurance, and industry standards. www.csaaintl.org. For more information, contact Elizabeth Lasko at CSAA, 703-242-4670 x 16.